GENERAL AGREEMENT ON TARIFFS AND TRADE

RESTRICTED

TBT/W/7 28 May 1980

Special Distribution

Committee on Technical Barriers to Trade

LIST OF PERSONS AVAILABLE TO SERVE ON PANELS

Note by the Secretariat

The first paragraph of Annex 3 to the Agreement on Technical Barriers to Trade states, inter alia, that "In order to facilitate the constitution of panels, the Chairman of the Committee shall maintain an informal indicative list of government officials knowledgeable in the area of technical barriers to trade and experienced in the field of trade relations and economic development. This list may also include persons other than government officials. In this connexion, each Party shall be invited to indicate at the beginning of every year to the Chairman of the Committee the name(s) of the one or two governmental experts whom the Parties would be willing to make available for such work.".

At the second meeting of the Committee on Technical Barriers to Trade held on 24 April 1980, the Chairman recalled this invitation and noted that names of persons had been received from a few Parties. The list of names communicated so far is circulated below.

Canada

Mr. H. Douglas

Mr. M. Gifford

European Economic Community

and member States:

Belgium Mr. H. van Houtte

Denmark Mr. A. Anderson

France Mr. E. Robin

Germany Mr. H. von Massow

Italy Mr. P. Cavanna

United Kingdom Mr. J.S. Linton Mr. R.J. Meadway

Finland Mr. Bergholm

Mr. Kuosmanen

New Zealand Mr. T.C. O'Brien

Dr. J. Yeabsley

Norway Mr. E. Selmer

Mr. H. Boyum Mr. K. Berger

Sweden Mr. B. Agild

United States Mr. D. Abelson

Mr. B. Wilson